At Keystone Insurance Services, we feel confident when working with Bear River Mutual to provide the best auto insurance quotes for our customers. They have been around In Utah for over a hundred years and know how exactly what drivers need in our state need.
That being said, many automobile insurance agents represent only a single insurance company and can only work with a specific set of policies. Even though Bear River Mutual is usually the best choice for auto insurance in Utah, we will still compare prices and policies from more than a dozen insurance providers to make sure you find the insurance policy that is perfect for you. Our service allows you to compare policies from some of the top insurance providers in the country and make an informed choice when you’re ready to make a purchase.
How no-fault insurance works after an accident in Utah
Utah is a no-fault state. This means that your own policy’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) can help pay for certain medical-related expenses after a car accident up to a certain limit. An at-fault driver can still be held liable for medical expenses, which is why bodily injury liability coverage is required.
You can customize your PIP coverage (to include lost wage protection, for example) when you buy your Bear River auto-insurance policy.
No-fault insurance does not apply to property damage. The at-fault driver’s property damage liability coverage can help pay for others’ car repairs or replacements.
How auto insurance claims are determined in Utah
Utah uses a comparative negligence law. This means that more than one driver can be found at fault, and you can only sue for damages if you are found to be less than 50 percent at fault. If for example, you are found to be 20 percent at fault, the at-fault driver’s insurer may offer you a claims settlement that pays up to 80 percent of your post-accident expenses.
Requirements for Utah auto insurance
All Utah drivers must carry proof of auto insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer upon request.
The following minimum coverages are required in Utah:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $3,000 per accident*
- Uninsured Motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
- Underinsured Motorist: $25,000 per person and $65,000 per accident**
*The “loss of income” portion of PIP)coverage may be rejected in writing.
**Uninsured and Underinsured coverages may be rejected in writing.
Utah Teen Driving Laws
At age 15, teens become eligible for a Utah learner’s permit, which allows them to drive with an approved instructor or a licensed parent or guardian. At age 16, if the driver has held a learner’s permit for a minimum of 6 months and has completed a minimum 40 hours instructed driving (at least 10 at night), they are eligible to apply for a Utah driver’s license. Drivers under 17 (whether learner’s permit or driver’s license holder) may not drive between the hours of midnight and 5 AM, except under special conditions.
A Bear River auto policy can accommodate these lower aged drivers, so let us know if you have a teenager in your household.
More Auto Insurance Options From Bear River Mutual Insurance
24/7 Roadside Assistance: Don’t find yourself stranded by adding this option on your Bear River Mutual auto insurance policy. It can help with towing, lockout or even gas delivery costs that you may incur after an accident.
Rental Car Reimbursement:Make sure you don’t take a financial hit when you get in a fender-bender. Your vehicle might need to be towed after an accident, or maybe you just need some help getting around while your vehicle is in the shop. With this coverage, Bear River Mutual can help pay for a rental vehicle to keep you mobile after an accident.
Get A Bear River Auto Insurance Quote
It only takes a moment to get started. Get an auto insurance quote and find out exactly how easy it is to secure an insurance policy that will protect you if ever you are involved in an auto accident.